Student Design Colloquium

As part of PLEA 2018, to encourage student participation, a "Student Design Colloquium" will be included as one of the conference sessions. It aims to invite imaginative ideas, projects and action plans that best demonstrate an interpretation of the Conference theme Passive and Low Energy Architecture - Smart and Healthy within the 2-degree Limit.

Annoucement - Shortlisted Teams and Awards for Student Design Competition

We received a total of 38 entries from 15 countries. We sincerely thank all entrants for their valuable and creative input.

It is our pleasure to announce the shortlisted student teams who presented their ideas and received the awards at PLEA Conference on 11 Dec 2018.


Team Members


Project Name



Noriel Estipular
Dan Patrick R. Piad
Karl Joseph Luchavez

Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology

Reviving the Paralyzed Networks

The Best Urban Sustainability Award


Sana Aleem
Sana Munir

University of Westminster

Traditional Multiple Courtyard House

The Best Research Project Award


Candy Esmundo
King Jayson Reyes
Jerico Sapiandante

Tarlac State University

Panoramic Porest City Organic regeneration of Baguio City Mountain Housing

The Best Integrated Design Award


Eduardo Pimentel Pizarro
Paula Lelis Rabelo Albala

University of Sao Paulo

Everyday House

The Most Innovative Design Award


Hung Thanh Dang
Vinh Tien Le

University of Huddersfield

Shelters for Adjustments

The Most Potential Impact Award for Urban Design


Li Yigang
Luo Yanwen
Huang Nanxiong
Yin Rumeng
Lv Xiang

Guangxi University

Coolland Station

The Best Research-Informed Design Award


Viktoria Elisabeth Blum
Daniele Santucci

Technical University Munich

Home Kong Tower

The Most Sophisticated Climate-Based Residential Design Award


Myrthe Tielens
Kajsa Olsson
Hao Yan
Michiel Bakx

Wageningen University
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences

The Energy Walk

The Best Urban Design Award


Alyssa Chua
Alvin Soh Wei Jie
Ge Luyao
Munshi Mukhtar Toh

National University of Singapore

Plug and Play

The Best Resilience and Peoples' Award



The Colloquium is open internationally to multidisciplinary teams meeting the following requirements.

Team Formation Criteria:
Each team must consist of:
  • 2-4 full-time undergraduate/postgraduate students who study preferably in sustainable built environment-related disciplines, e.g. Architecture/ Engineering/ Green Building Studies/ Building Technology/ Urban Planning and Design/ Landscape/ Surveying, etc.
  1. All members must be identified in the online registration form. A team leader must be designated. S/he is the team’s sole representative to complete the registration online and liaise with the Competition Organiser.
  2. All members in the team are regarded as co-authors of the submission. They will be acknowledged as such in all announcements, displays, exhibitions and other materials related to the competition, in the order in which their details are listed in the registration form.

Submission Requirements

Presentation panel:

  • 1 panel in A0 size laid out in landscape format must be digitally submitted in one single file.
  • The panel should include a brief profile of all team members with a 100-word executive summary in English. The summary should describe the key concepts and features relevant to the Conference theme and requirements.
  • The template can be downloaded here.

File Format and size:

The file must be saved as high resolution ai artwork file capable of being conveniently viewed on a computer screen as well as to be printed out to A0 size for exhibition (300 dpi).

Submission deadline:  Please click here to submit online registration and email respective presentation panel to on or before 31 July 2018. 31 August 2018.


The content should be sufficient to convey a clear understanding of the Conference theme. The panel could consist of drawings, rendered images, photographs, thumbnails, text or anything entrants find suitable to illustrate their ideas.


All work submitted must be the applicant’s original work. It is the applicant’s sole responsibility to ensure that the work submitted does not infringe upon the intellectual property rights of any third party, including, but not limited to, copyright, trademark and design rights.


Please contact PLEA 2018 Secretariat: +852 3943 6597 /


Sole Sponsor



The selection panel will select no more than 20 teams with reasons provided in early October 2018. Shortlisted teams must send at least 1 representative to make a presentation on their proposal in "Student Design Colloquium" session of PLEA 2018 Conference.

All shortlisted teams will:

  • present their ideas at PLEA 2018 Conference
  • get a complimentary seat for PLEA 2018 Conference
  • obtain cash prize of HK$10,000 as a studentship
  • obtain a certificate


  1. Prizes will be presented to shortlisted teams under the condition that the team can send at least 1 representative to attend the Conference and make a presentation during the Conference.
  2. Prizes will be presented to the team representative and are to be shared at the discretion of the team members.
  3. The selection panel's decision shall be final and binding on all entries.
  4. The Conference Organiser reserves the right to use the entries and photos for marketing purposes.


  • Prof. Dr Heide Schuster, Faculty 1, Frankfurt Research Institute, Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Prof. Simos Yannas, Director, Sustainable Environmental Design Architectural Association, UK
  • Prof. Dr Joana Carla Soares Gonçalves, Associate Professor, School of Architecture and Urbanism, The University of São Paulo, Brazil
  • Prof. Rajat Gupta, Professor of Sustainable Architecture and Climate Change, School of Architecture Oxford Brookes University, UK
  • Dr. Sanda Lenzholzer, Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences, Wageningen University, Netherlands
  • Prof. Pablo La Roche, Professor, Department of Architecture, Cal Poly Pomona, United States
  • Prof. Sue Roaf, Professor – Retired, Centre of Excellence in Sustainable Building Design Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Prof. Alfredo Fernández-González, Professor of Architecture, School of Architecture University of Nevada, Las Vegas, United States
  • Prof. Paula Cadima, Professor, Architectural Association, UK
  • Prof. Passe Ulrike, the President of Society of Building Science Educators